Galtier absent from best coach list for UNFP trophies, Mbappé favorite for best player title

The nominees for the UNFP Ligue 1 trophies, which will take place on 28 May, were announced on Tuesday.

Paris Saint-Germain coach Christophe Galtier has not been nominated for the UNFP trophy as best coach this season, whose ceremony on May 28 is expected to once again crown Kylian Mbappé as the best player in the league. The national players’ union unveiled on Tuesday 16 May the identity of the players and coaches nominated for these trophies awarded each year at the end of the season.

The Parisian manager, who has been on this list for three years, criticizes his side’s lackluster play since the second half of the season, as well as disappointing results in the Champions League and Coupe de France. The coach had been crowned in 2019 and 2021 on the Lille bench. Like Pochettino, he will be one of the few coaches not to be named as they go on to win Ligue 1, if PSG win their 11th trophy at the end of the season.

Coaches Franck Haise (Lens) and Igor Tudor (Olympique de Marseille) are favorites to succeed Rennes coach Bruno Genesio, who was awarded last year. The protagonist of the ceremony is still Kylian Mbappé, named best player in Ligue 1. Top scorer in the league currently with 26 goals, the French star is aiming for a fourth consecutive honorary title.

Lionel Messi, the current best passer, is back on the list, unlike Lyon striker Alexandre Lacazette, who scored 25 goals this season. The trophy presentation evening is scheduled for Sunday 28 May, the day after the 37th and penultimate matchday of Ligue 1. The nominees in each category were chosen with the vote of their peers.

Candidates by category:

Best player in Ligue 1 : Jonathan David (LOSC), Seko Fofana (Lens), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Lionel Messi (PSG), Loïs Openda (Lens).

Best goalkeeper : Lucas Chevalier (Losc), Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG), Pau Lopez (OM), Anthony Lopes (OL), Brice Samba (Lens).

best coach : Paulo Fonseca (Losc), Pascal Gastien (Clermont), Franck Haise (Lens), Philippe Montanier (Toulouse), Igor Tudor (OM).

best hope : Bradley Barcola (OL), Eliesse Ben Seghir (Monaco), Rayan Cherki (OL), Nuno Mendes (PSG), Elye Wahi (Montpellier).

Best player in Ligue 2 : Jean-Philippe Krasso (ASSE), Victor Lekhal (HAC), Josh Maja (Bordeaux), Georges Mikautadze (Metz), Niels Nkounkou (ASSE).

Best Female D1 Player : Delphine Cascarino (OL), Kadidiatou Diani (PSG), Melchie Dumornay (Reims), Grace Geyoro (PSG), Rosemonde Kouassi (Fleury 91).

Add a Comment