The Serbian economy minister called on the authorities to join the sanctions against Russia

Serbia must immediately impose sanctions on Russia, said Economy Minister Rade Basta. According to him, the republic “already pays a high price” for refusing to join the international restrictions adopted in connection with the war in Ukraine.

Basta noted that the pressure on Serbia “becomes unbearable” and can lead to serious negative consequences for the country’s economy. “As Minister of Economy, I see the pressure on Serbian President Aleksandar Vučić and I cannot accept that we are silent. For this reason, I am in favor of imposing sanctions on Russia, I support President Vučić in protecting state and national interests, and I have full confidence in him,” he stressed and called on his fellow ministers to speak out on the matter.

This was stated on March 10 by Vučić I can’t swearnot to impose sanctions on Russia. At the same time, he recalled that Serbia had clearly defined its position by condemning the war in Ukraine. In addition, the president promised to take action against the Serbs who decided to join the private military company Wagner to fight for Russia in Ukraine.

In January, the head of the Republic’s foreign ministry, Ivica Dacic, said that Serbia may join sanctions against Russia if it sees fit. According to him, the country had not imposed restrictions before, including after the annexation of Crimea in 2014, because he believed that it was “not in its interest.”

The minister stressed, however, that Serbia “condemns the violation of Ukraine’s territorial integrity” and voted unanimously in all international organizations. Belgrade also considers EU accession a priority, Dacic said, and that requires joining a common European policy, including sanctions.

In March 2022, Serbia voted to adopt a UN resolution condemning the invasion of Ukraine, and in April to exclude Russia from the UN Human Rights Council. In October 2022, Serbia supported a UN General Assembly resolution condemning the annexation of four regions of Ukraine.


Add a Comment